Mnemonic Generator

January 26, 2007 at 2:33 am 4 comments

This is a pretty good idea for either remembering things or for pretending you are cool!

You can type in any random number, like a phone number or a social security number, and it will search the Bible, plus latitude and longitude to find out if anything interesting is there, plus the law in your country, state, city, etc., so you can automatically find out what that number means.

Like, maybe “Gomer” from the Old Testament or that part where the guys ran Jehovah out of town with their iron chariot, plus “Stockholm” or “the Statue of Liberty,” and “operating a bawdy house” or “having a sign that makes too many revolutions per minute.”

This should probably be some kind of web thing that just queries a whole bunch of databases.

This could help you to remember your telephone number, plus also you could tell people about it and they might think it was interesting.

Maybe, if I got the right kind of hat for it, I could be a mentalist or something with it, too.

stolemyhat.jpg

TO DO: Hat

Entry filed under: Bible, boring, forget, geography, language, law, numbers, proof of concept, remember, words.

Fake CIA agent scams 22 for $1M – The Clarion-Ledger Marketing idea

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ggwfung  |  January 26, 2007 at 10:09 am

    sounds cool. But the “art of memory” seems to have died in the digital age.

    shame, it’s all this sort of brain training I used to do in my spare time at uni. Just for the kick of it. Great way to learn history.

    ggw

    Reply
  • 2. lisarea  |  January 27, 2007 at 3:22 am

    That is why you should make a lot of new mnemonics now, before the coming revolution. After that, it’ll be dog eat dog. No technology to fall back on. No infrastructure. Nothing.

    Just me, my mnemonic generator, and a vision.

    Reply
  • 3. ackthp  |  February 16, 2008 at 8:33 am

    This must be the moment my whole life was building up to. It becomes clear in retrospect that the whole seemingly haphazard series of events was an orchestrated movement culminating with the entire weight of history pressing down full force on the opposing end of the lever of destiny that teeters atop the fulcrum of God’s eternal and immovable plan, launching me, ah, to hell with it. Anyhow, I did something very vaguely like that this one time, and so have other people. You didn’t need to be reminded of that, but now you have been anyway.

    http://tinyurl.com/228t99

    Also, congratulations, you have been stalker-tagged. Now you have to find — uh, apparently Lorne Greene is dead, so you’re off the hook for that one. By the way, that counts as my very first “Whatever happened to…?” answered with “Died over two decades ago”. They give Future Corpses of America merit badges for that. And with luck and a bit of hard work, I’ll be up to three and four decades before I know it, and then I’ll be earning new decorations faster than my caretaker can sew them onto my sash. Also, I think you can keep earning merit badges after you’re dead, as long as you leave enough to the groundskeepers to pay for the engraving. And when I say that I may sound like an older, more ridiculous Goth, but unlike them I’m effortlessly unoriginal. I’m a conformist by lack of imagination, not by temperament.

    Now, I leave you as the tiny munchkins of your memory sing the Lollipop Guild Song.

    Reply
  • 4. nemolittle  |  May 21, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Hello,
    I believe that this is not a new idea.
    Such a website already exists: Rememberg.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


